Graphic Design Project 3: Adage Booklet Research

This post consists of research I conducted for a project in my graphic design class.

The assignment was to create a booklet from the a classic idiom or adage. I chose the adage, “Time flies when you are having fun.

When I first started the research for this assignment I searched the idiom online and found that most images that came up from the search were very generic and literal.

Idiom (Direct):

imgres-4     imgres

I decided to think of some stories using images. I automatically thought of Children’s picture books.

Children’s Illustrations (Related):

illustration_art_of_children_E01-PSD-027       ce5ab3bf181bde7efa97de574177a573763ad92f_m

winnie       full-1

350px-PeterRabbit13 PeterRabbit_000

Articles (Related):

This article provides 18 tips on how to tell a story through illustrations.

http://www.digitalartsonline.co.uk/features/illustration/18-tips-for-telling-story-through-artwork/

This article contains writing on how illustrations affect picture books.

http://scholarworks.wmich.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1280&context=reading_horizons

Japanese Graphic Novels (Related):

At first I did not want to do a comic book/comic strip type of booklet, but using the grid for the illustrations alone was a challenge, so I ended up separating the pages into panels. By creating panels, I was also able to tell a longer story.

I reminded myself of the Japanese comic books I used to read. A lot of the pages play with large and smaller sized panels. Here are some examples of the panel usage in graphic novels that influenced my story telling.

Akira (1982-1990): Katsuhiro Otomo

Akira2 akira_4_p385_p386

One Piece (1997-present): Eiichiro Oda

One Piece Manga Chapter 579 Page 12

In order to think of stories for my adage, I looked back at some of my favorite books, films, and short stories.

Books/Stories (Related):

The Little Prince (1943): It is a quiet and sweet story, yet has a very deep meaning.

the-little-prince

Movies and Films:

I looked back and reminded myself of some of the short films and movies that I have enjoyed. The sequencing, moods and overall feel from these movies influenced my story telling.

Paper man (Trailer) (2012): A Quiet short film from Disney. No dialogue story-telling.

How to Train Your Dragon (2010): The theme of a new friendship. I honestly did not mean for my adage idea to be so similar to this clip… I apologize!

Only Yesterday (Omohide Poro Poro) (1991): Children, Sweet, Nostalgia, and Memories.

OmohidePoroPoro5 omohide

street   vlcsnap-100479

Ponyo, on the Cliff by the Sea (2008): Children, Friendship, The Sea.

imgres-1   ponyo_02

Images that inspired my story:

imgres-2  images-3

Music (Inspirational):

This is some of the music I listened to while illustrating my adage booklet.

John Powell: Forbidden Friendship

Only Yesterday (Omohide Poro Poro) Official Soundtrack: Ohanahan

Joe Hisaishi: Friends

Leave a Reply

